Gusman, Tallent and Anderson to represent Australia at Universiade

The University of Canberra’s Jordan Gusman, Rachel Tallent and Bryce Anderson have been selected in a very competitive Australian World Universiade team.

The trio will compete also a very strong team of 34 athletes including Rio Olympians Michelle Jenneke (University of Sydney, 100m hurdles) and Matthew Denny (Griffith University Gold Coast, discus and hammer throw) who all won medals in Gwangju two years ago.

Jordan Gusman one of the leading UC Ginninderra Athletics Club distance athletes will be running in the 1500m an event he was the fastest qualifier for in the recent Australian Championships.

Jordan’s training partner Bryce Anderson will be battling it out in the Men’s 10,000m.

While Rachel Tallent is hoping to again medal at Universiade in the  20km walk.

The 29th Summer Universiade will be held in Taipei (CHN) on 19-30 August, 2017 with Athletics Australia today confirming the track and field team bound for Taipei.

“The World University Games provide a fantastic opportunity for Australia’s up and coming athletes to be exposed to the rigours of international competition, and with this in mind the overriding selection principle has been to select a team that features all qualified and eligible athletes,” DionRussell, Athletics Australia Chairman of Selectors, said.

“Athletics has a proud history of success at the Universiade and I am confident that the selected team can build on this tradition. The athletics section features three medallists from the event two years ago returning for competition and many national champions or championship medallists keen to make their mark on the world stage.”

One of the largest sporting events in the world, the Summer Universiade has launched the careers of an abundance of track and field stars including Shirley Strickland (100m, 100m hurdles), RalphDoubell (800m), Alison Inverarity (high jump), Emma George (pole vault), Dani Samuels(discus throw) and Kylie Wheeler (heptathlon).

At the 2015 edition in Gwangju (KOR), Australia’s athletics section won an impressive five medals.

The Summer Universiade is held every two years under the banner of the International University Sports Federation. Athletics has been a fixture of the competition schedule since the Universiade began in Turin (ITA) in 1959.

Athletics Section – 29th Summer Universiade
19-30 August 2017

MEN (19):
100m: Rohan Browning (NSW, University of Sydney), Nicholas Andrews (NSW, Macquarie University)
200m: Rohan Browning (NSW)
800m: Steve Knuckey (Vic, RMIT University)
1500m: Adam Pyke (Vic, University of Melbourne), Jordan Gusman (ACT, University of Canberra)
10,000m: Bryce Anderson (ACT, University of Canberra)
110m hurdles: Nicholas Hough (NSW, University of Sydney)
High Jump: Joseph Baldwin (Vic, University of Melbourne)
Pole Vault: Angus Armstrong (NSW, University of Sydney), Stephen Clough (WA, University of Western Australia)
Long Jump: Chris Mitrevski (Vic, RMIT University), Liam Adcock (Qld, University of Queensland)
Discus Throw: Matthew Denny (Qld, Griffith University Gold Coast)
Hammer Throw: Matthew Denny (Qld)
Javelin: Liam O’Brien (Qld, University of Queensland), William White (Qld, University of Queensland)
Decathlon: Kyle Cranston (NSW, Australian Catholic University), David Brock (Vic, RMIT University)
Half Marathon: Dylan Evans (Tas, University of Tasmania)

WOMEN (16):
800m: Lora Storey (NSW, Australian College of Physical Education), Georgia Griffith (Vic, University of Melbourne)
1500m: Jenny Blundell (NSW, University of Sydney)
5000m: Jenny Blundell (NSW)
100m hurdles: Michelle Jenneke (NSW, University of Sydney), Elizabeth Clay (Qld, Griffith University)
3000m steeplechase: Stella Radford (Vic, University of North Carolina), Paige Campbell (NSW, University of Sydney)
High Jump: Hannah Joye (Qld, Griffith University Gold Coast), Nicola McDermott (NSW, University of Sydney)
Discus Throw: Taryn Gollshewsky (Qld, Central Queensland University)
Hammer Throw: Lara Neilsen (Qld, University of Southern Queensland)
Javelin: Kathryn Brooks (Vic, University of Melbourne), Mackenzie Little (NSW, Stanford University)
Heptathlon: Alysha Burnett (NSW, Australian Catholic University)
20km race walk: Jessica Pickles (Qld, University of Queensland), Rachel Tallent (Vic, University of Canberra).