Tag Archives: AACT

Belconnen Primary Schools Team Challenge announced

Ginninderra Athletics in-conjunction with the 25 Primary Schools in Belconnen and Yass have announced the first School Athletics Team Challenge.

The Team Challenge, inspired by Nitro Athletics, is a 5-a-side team format that sees schools go head-to-head in a separate Boys and Girls Challenge showcasing a mix of power, endurance, technique and teamwork events across sprint, distance and field events.

The Challenge also features some of the biggest names of the sport including Ginninderra's very own World Champion Cameron Crombie along with players from the Capitals, Brumbies and all your favourite National sporting teams. Individual student winners from each event will be invited to take part in a Showcase Event of Community Hero versus our Sporting Heroes. It will be a Nitro handicap style final worthy of watching.

Spectators and their families can watch the event for free as well as participate in the many sporting challenges being run around the field. A community sports gala for the whole family.

Local schools are now nominating their Year 5/6 teams including the likes of St Thomas Aquinas, Evatt Primary, Miles Franklin, Florey, Weetangera and Kingsford Smith Jnr School just to name a few.

Invitations have already gone out to your school and its not too late to nominate a school team.

Coaches from Ginninderra Athletics are running free coaching clinics in local schools coinciding with the Team Challenge.

With the 12 and Under Belconnen Regional Carnival in August, the Over 13 High School North Carnival and the School Sport ACT Athletics Championships in September, Ginninderra Athletics is happy to assist interested students to improve their knowledge and provide valuable experience in the lead-up to these important events.

With the School Athletics Team Challenge set for the 15th of September, Ginninderra has named the months of August and September - Athstember and giving focus on the sport and the development of students in the Belconnen Community.

So come along to the Ginninderra Athletics Field on Lhotsky Street in September and experience the first ever Primary School Team Challenge - an athletics event like no other.

For the over 13s the Athletics ACT Nitro Schools Challenge is being held at the Phillip Athletics Track on the 26th October. Contact Ginninderra Athletics if you would like an extra boost in this nationwide competition that will see the best teams go onto the National Final. The Club is happy to send Coaches to your school or invite teams to the AIS to provide training after school.

22nd July 2018 High Noon

The Athletics ACT High Noon meet on 22nd July 2018 had some very impressive early season results from members of Ginninderra Athletics.

In the 100m Jeremy Maranan finished second behind the ACT Open Men' champion in 12.18s. Jeremy's team mate Harry Francis (13.04s) won the second heat. Ginninderra's newest dual registered member with Gungahlin Little Athletics Centre Chloe Penfold (15.52s) finished 4th in the Women's race. Brodie Goecke-Beard (13.70s) came second to Harry in their heat.

The 200m again featured Harry Francis (25.68 PB), Brodie Goecke-Beard (29.03), Chloe Penfold (32.20) and their Ginninderra Team mate Jacob Todd (28.03). Harry was fifth fastest overall which is a huge personal best for him. His training with Faye Todd over Winter is really paying off.

Jacob Todd (1:00.64) backed up in the 400m and his brother Hayden Todd (1:01.79) gave the Tigers a second and fourth finish respectively overall.

Hayden Todd (2:13.79) and Jacob Todd (2:11.11) finished 2nd and 3rd respectively in the 800m.

Brodie Goecke-Beard (4.27m) finished 3rd in the Long Jump. Brodie (1.40m) also backed up in the High Jump finishing third overall.

Stephen Fraser (14.39m) threw the furthest in the Men's Shot Put for the win. Stephen (41.84m) and Chloe Penfold (16.91m) both finished in first respectively, Men and Women, in the Discus.

2018 AACT Road Running Championships

The first event of the 2018 Run_ACT Senior Series kicked off on Saturday 21st June at the Menindee Drive course near the Boat House.

This event doubled as the AACT Road Running Championships with athletes racing over 2km, 5km and 10km. The Road Running Champs was the first event since the successful merger of Ginninderra Little Athletics Centre with UC Ginninderra Athletics Club.

Running under the banner of One Sport, One Athlete, One Club - Ginninderra Athletes did magnificently in the cold conditions.

Lucas Davill crossed the line in second position in the 2km Championship however Lucas was also the first U12 Boy taking the Gold. His Tiger team mate Zac Cuzner finished 7th in the U10 Boys combined race. Lucas trains with Brian Daly's bunch, Brian is one of Ginninderra's most experienced endurance coaches who has had fantastic results as a Coach.

In the 5km Daniel Carson ran well to cross the line in 5th position and finish 3rd Open Male. James Lemon was the fastest U14 in that event and UC Student Courtney Hopkins ran strongly to finish in first for the U20 Women and first female across the line. Last season Courtney competed for Australia at the 42nd IAAF World Cross Country Championships in Uganda. Both Daniel and James are or have been graduates of Brian's Bunch.

In the 10km Fleur Flannery of UC Team Telford finished 5th female overall but first in the W45 category. Former UC Ginninderra Athlete Andrew Camp Liddiard finished in 39th position with a new PB.

The next Run_ACT events are as follows:

  • Race 1 - Saturday 21 July (with YCRC) – Menindee Drive – Runners Shop 2/5/10km – this event will double as the AACT Road Running Championships
  • Race 2 - Saturday 4 August (with YCRC) – Dunrossil Drive – 2.1/4.2km
  • Race 3 - Sunday 9 September – Stromlo – Combined AACT/LAACT/ACTMA Relays (4x1km for Juniors & 4x4km for Seniors/Masters)

Come and join Ginninderra Athletics and run as part of our Team.